Benny Behanan was born to O. Thomas and Chinnamma Thomas on 22 August 1952 at Vengola, near Perumbavoor in present-day Kerala state, South India. He is a Kerala politician of the Indian National Congress party. He was the MLA of Thrikkakara Legislative Assembly Constituency from 2011 to 2016. He was the General Secretary of the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee for 17 years. Earlier he had won Piravom in 1982, and unsuccessfully contested the Idukki Parliament Constituency as UDF Candidate to the Lok Sabha in 2004.

He has held various positions within the party.

  • State president of the Kerala Students Union (KSU) from 1978–1979
  • General Secretary, Kerala Pradesh Youth Congress Committee from 1979–1982
  • Member of KPCC Executive Since 1981
  • In 1982, he was elected to the Kerala State Legislative Assembly
  • All India Congress Committee (AICC) Member since 1996
  • Managing Director, Veekshanam Daily Newspaper since 2006
  • President of Thrissur District Congress Committee since 2010[
  • Member Legislative Assembly in 2011 (Thrikkakkara Constituency)
  • Convenor,United Democratic Front ( UDF ) since 2018