Benny Behanan , A parliamentarian and seasoned politician from Kerala, born on 22nd  August 1952 at Vengola in Ernakulam District. He imbibed values from his father O. Thomas and mother Chinnamma . His father was a freedom fighter and a renowned teacher ,which helped Benny Behanan to grow with Congress and teachings of Gandhi and Nehru. During his young age he was fond of nonviolence ,fraternity ,equality and pluralism , the ideals of Gandhi ji. 

He started his public life during his school days.He was the unit president of KSU in Salem High school Vengola. 

He was graduated from Sree Sankara College Kalady and he studied law at Government Law College Ernakulam. During his student days he was the Taluk and District president of KSU. 

He was elected as the state president of Kerala Students Union in the year 1978. In 1979 he was elevated as the State General Secretary of youth Congress Kerala and continued till 1982. In 1981 he was nominated in the KPCC executive committee. From the year 1996 onwards he has been a member of the AICC and he also worked as the general secretary of Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee for a period of 17 long years.

In the year 2010 The Kerala Pradesh Congress committee deputed him as the President of the district Congress committee Thrissur. All India Congress committee appointed him as the convenor of UDF for a period of 2018 to 2020. 

On 1.9.2016 Congress president Sonia Gandhi constituted 21 members political affairs committee in Kerala and the Congress president included his name in the political affairs committee and from then onwards he has been working as a member of the political affairs committee.

He was a member of the Kerala legislative assembly twice, in 1982 he contested from Piravam constituency and won the election. He had been represented the piravam constituency from 1982 to 1987. In the year 2011 he contested the election from Thrikkakara constituency and had been represented constituency from 2011 to 2016. 

He proved his in-depth knowledge in economics and politics by writing a valuable book during the hardship of demonetisation. The book “ഡിമോണിറ്റൈസേഷൻ സംഘടിത കുറ്റവും നിയമാനുസൃത കൊള്ളയും”Was published by Adoor Gopalakrishnan , the legendary filmmaker of India. He was also the Managing Director of Veekshanam, Mouthpiece of the Congress party in Kerala. 

While he was the member of the legislative assembly he conducted a programme named “സാന്ത്വനം” which offered speedy relief to the needy and hapless persons including comorbid patients, aged, widowed and differently abled people in the Thrikkakara constituency.

On 9th January 1983 he married Sherly,a graduate in education, have two children in the wedlock, Venu Thomas  and Veena Thomas . He also have two grand children Eva Susan Thomas and Freya. Now he is residing in Angamaly 

He put his entire focus on the welfare of the people in his constituency during the pandemic period and he did several initiative to prevent the spreading of COVID-19 and also contributed free vaccines to the tribal people at Mallakkapara in his constituency and conducted mass vaccination camp for the disabled people in his constituency. All these efforts inspire other political workers to contribute their part to overcome the pandemic Distress. His endeavour to prevail equality in the society has been continuing without any hindrance.

Truly a visionary politician who has been working hard for the betterment of people in Kerala. The dedicated leader ,following the teachings of Gandhi and Nehru ,imbibing the values of the Congress party such as Fraternity equality nonviolence and pluralism.

  • MP 2019 - present
    He has been elected Member of Parliament for Chalakudy since 2019
  • UDF Convernor 2018 - 2020
    Convenor,United Democratic Front ( UDF )
  • MLA 2011 - 2016
    He was the MLA of Thrikkakara Legislative Assembly Constituency from 2011 to 2016
  • DCC 2010 - 2012
    President of Thrissur District Congress Committee
  • Veekshanam 2006 - 2010
    He was Managing Director, Kerala Congress's news paper Veekshanam Daily Newspaper
  • AICC 1996 - present
    All India Congress Committee (AICC) Member since 1996
  • MLA 1982 - 1987
    He was the MLA of Piravom Legislative Assembly Constituency from 1982 to 1987
  • KPCC 1981 - present
    Member of Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee Executive Since 1981
  • IYC Kerala 1979 - 1982
    General Secretary, Kerala Pradesh Youth Congress Committee from 1979–1982
  • KSU 1978 – 1979
    State president of the Kerala Students Union (KSU) from 1978–1979